What problems are you trying to solve with personal knowledge management solutions?

What problems do you have with personal knowledge management that you need tools or workflows to solve?

I’m really interested in cataloging here the different use cases people have for PKM solutions. I imagine each domain or discipline of knowledge will have different needs.

For me as an academic researcher, my biggest need is having a way to collect the knowledge contained in different resources (articles, books, seminar, conversations) in a way that allows me to (1) easily retrieve knowledge in the future and (2) make novel insights by synthesizing the knowledge I collect.

@metaraine @thomasteepe @msteffens @lizardmenfromspace

I think the biggest issue isn’t particularly knowing what tool to use, but instead what is the right workflow or strategy for taking notes. Questions like “what is actually worth taking notes on in a book?”, “To what level of interconnection should ones notes be?” The make novel insights by synthesizing the knowledge collected is also a good one. Another one would be, what is the best use of time when it comes to note taking and reading?

1 Like

My main goal is to construct a problem solving method for “suitable” problems (those you can tackle with pen and paper). The most promising approach I’ve found so far is a combination of the following three elements (I know I’m repeating myself - my apologies):

• a method of concatenating smallish units of thought - basically, I produce a sequence of 3x3 or 4x4 small mind maps or diagrams or text boxes on an A4 sheet in landscape format, and I collect the relevant insights from several such sheets on summary sheets for different topics,
  • a collection of problem solving tools, and
  • a zettelkasten system for managing the insights.